New Date to be Announced

“A Railway History of Niagara on the Lake  1854 – 1959”

Before gaining recognition as a tourist destination, Niagara on the Lake was a notable railway town with both a steam powered railroad as well as an interurban electric line. Both railways had their own separate, parallel tracks running through the centre of the town.  This an account of investment and change, of which, virtually nothing can be seen today.  The presentation will explore the beginnings of the railway dating back to 1854 and the resulting economic and strategic benefits it had for travel, tourism, industry, agriculture and the military up until its closure in 1959. Others topics such as railway safety, construction and equipment will be included and the presentation will utilize period maps and many black and white photographs.